* On another note, if you haven't seen 'Quarterlife, watch it. The best web series EVER. Walton's also in that, as are some other greats (the guy from Greek/The River) and Bitsie Tulloch.
Auction Hunters LIVE - What the heck was this??? If people didn't think the show was staged before, the sure as heck know it now. This was a horrible idea, was unbearable to watch and I hope will be the beginning of the end of this over dramatized, hokey as heck show.
House of Consignment - A girl starts an ebay store selling other people's high end merchandise and get's a TV show? what is this world coming too? We've already seen the whole consignment bit with Bravo's 'Fashion Hunters' and this is just a whole lot more of that - bitchy, materialistic, catty girls with clothes that uber-rich people paid thousands for and are now 'excited' to be selling for 20% of what they paid. I'd give it 6 episodes, along with the other new VH1 fashion series, 'Style by June'
Stevie TV - Here's another new show on VH1....a one woman sketch comedy series. Hmmm?? I've been taping the first few episodes, but not bothering to watch them until the other day when I gave it a shot. In short, it's 'easy' comedy - parodies; and it's not great, but there's something about Stevie that I like. Even though she's not super funny, she's a smart girl that I'd much rather have as a role model for my daughter than any other personality on MTV, VH!, E! or Bravo! And, compared to Key & Peele, comedy central's newest attempt at sketch comedy, this show is a gem. Seriously, that was the worst show I've seen in a long time. Bring back dave Chappelle or don't bother...
The River - So the finale was the other night and it wasn't quite what I was expecting. I really thought we'd have some sort of 'American Horror Story' type closure to this story and season 2 (which I'm fairly certain they'll get) would pick up somewhere completely different, but this is network TV, not cable, so of course they had to make it so that they're still stuck on the river and this same schtick will go on as long as people will watch. that being said, it's still a great show and I congratulate ABC for taking a chance on something like this. for the most part, it was a breathe of fresh air on network tv.
New Girl - What an amazing episode. Jess falls in the coi pond, Nick's busy folding his sweater; I felt like I was watching an episode of Laverne and Shirley or I Love Lucy (two shows which I'm referencing not because I remember any of the story lines, but rather because they have iconic comedy duos and I think these two may eventually fall into that category). The show I look most forward to every week. What more can I say.
Rock Center - what an interesting piece on Mad Men and the attention to detail on set. I could have watched a whole hour on this!
No comments:
Post a Comment